Chinatown Brasserie, SoHo NYC

One of my co-workers from Chicago was in town to do a bit of Holiday window shopping (as in prop shopping for the Chicago holiday windows), so we decided to treat her to lunch at Chinatown Brasserie, as she was in the mood for Chinese.

To start, we ordered the vegetable spring rolls. My mother always told me that you can tell a good Chinese restaurant by its egg rolls and let me tell you — I felt as though we were in for a bad meal after these ones.  They tasted as if they were simply taken from a freezer and popped into a fryer. Nothing special, typical filling of mushrooms, greens and carrots that were wrapped in a hard fried crust.

For our meal, my Chicago co-worker and I chose to do the Dim Sum Lunch à la carte. I started off with the cold sesame noodles (which you really can’t go wrong with anywhere), but did not like that the noodles were the thickness of fettuccine. As for my dim sum, I went with Watercress Dumplings with Shrimp and Pork, Crunchy Vegetable and Peanut Dumplings, Crispy Shrimp and Mango Rolls and the BBQ Short Ribs. Out of all of them, I only liked the Crispy Shrimp and Mango Rolls. Everything else was sub par and beyond (especially the VERY chewy short ribs).

My boss did get something that he really liked, Kung Pao Shrimp. He said it was quite spicy and the shrimp looked good to me!

One thought on “Chinatown Brasserie, SoHo NYC

Leave a Reply

