Bon Appétit Supper Club and Café, Midtown NYC

For the second year in a row, Bon Appétit set up a cafe on 57th Street in NYC. The cafe was only open for 2 weeks at lunchtime and featured a menu built by renowned chefs such as Mario Batali, Michael Psilakis (Bon Appétit Chef of the Year) and Charlie Trotter. The idea was great; regular customers could experience recipes created by chefs they might not otherwise be able to try as well as the fact that it took place in a ‘good food barren’ part of the city. Not only did chefs create a menu specially for the Supper Club, but many of them were there on varying days to give demonstrations. And that was one of many problems…

To start, the layout of the cafe was not well done. I walked into a crowded room with customers not given any direction as to how to start, wondering where to find what they wanted or where to pay.  When I decided on the sandwich station, I was told 3 out of the 5 of the sandwiches were not available and that only one person is making them — so it would be a while until any were ready. Ok, next choice: soup. I walked to the soup station only to be told that 2 out of the 4 choices were not available either. At this point, I decided that I’d be eating desert for lunch and made my way to the desert station. There, I was not disappointed. All deserts were available and pre-wrapped unlike the ‘wrapped to order’ sandwiches and soup. I chose Cranberry and Vanilla Marshmallows as well as a Pineapple Polenta Cake with Ginger all by Johnny Luzzini (Jean George’s Pastry Chef). Both of his deserts were delectable and just the right amount.

After purchasing my deserts, I walked to the seating area only to find that there was very little seating for such a large daily event. And, as it turned out, many of the seats were taken up by spectators of the chefs giving demos. This is the point when I decided to head out and get a real lunch at one of my old stand-bys, Landmarc in the Time Warner Building.

One thought on “Bon Appétit Supper Club and Café, Midtown NYC

  1. I think I’m going to start my own supper club. It’s called the Amos and Kugel dinner club. Menu consists of food from the fridge or freezer. The company is wonderful. Seating options span 3 rooms and there is always openings. Is it weird that I don’t mind eating with my cats?

Leave a Reply

