Summer Cookbooks and Food Blogs

I love food. I love eating it, I love making it, I love reading about it. I have noticed that a lot more people are starting to share my love which is fantastic. It’s about time that people started being concerned with what they put into their bodies and where their food comes from.

My mother was the one who helped nurture my love for food. When I was just a baby, she was making my food for me — from scratch. I grew up with a great seasonal garden that my mother cooked from. It included an all time favorite of mine, zucchinis. I remember her pickling them every year and how deliciously sweet her homemade zucchini pickles turned out to be.

It was also my mother who sent me the C.I.A. for kids culinary cooking lessons. I learned how to make pizza dough, pastas, sweets and more, all from scratch and all before I was in 5th grade.

To this day my mom still inspires my cooking and I love when we can cook together. And after years of being inspired, I felt it was my turn to share those inspirations with you all. Here are some of my new favorites in the cookbook world and blogger realm.

  • Ad Hoc at Home, The French Laundry, Bouchon by Thomas Keller – Tomas Keller is by far the best professional chef at this moment. I have never made a recipe of his that I didn’t want to make over and over. His direction is never off in season, in flavor, in perfection. If you are like me and are too far from any of his amazing restaurants such as the French Laundry or Ad Hoc, try the cookbooks. The recipes require time and food knowledge, but the results are remarkable. And delicious.
  • Beard on Bread by James Beard – That’s right, the most well-known man in food is also my favorite bread baker. This ‘oldie but goodie’ cookbook is easy to follow and the recipes are flawless. There is something so special about eating your own freshly baked, sweet-smelling bread. And Mr. Beard teaches you how to make the best.
  • Sprouted Kitchen – By far, this is the most brilliant food blog out there right now. The author’s recipes are incredible, fresh, healthy and the photography is superb. The pictures will make you drool and run to your frig and the store looking for the ingredients immediately. You will never be disappointed by this lovely site.
  • The KitchenApartment Therapy has always been a great go-to site for your home needs and ‘The Kitchen’ annex is no different. This site shares ideas, recipes, stories, knowledge and products with its viewer; all the major components for a home cook!

You’ll never know how much better home made pastas and breads taste until you try making them; the effort is always worth the return. Try visiting your local farmers markets for seasonal ingredients which will always taste better and fresher. Mangia!

One thought on “Summer Cookbooks and Food Blogs

  1. You are so lucky to have a mom that inspired you this way. Poor Joel grew up on Kraft Macaroni & Cheese and hot dogs!

Leave a Reply

