Meatless Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday… Lentils

To get the ball rolling on Fishmix’s Meatless Days, my first recipes will involves lentils. Lentils are one of my favorites as you can make so many different meals with them and they are filling. A happy, healthy, suitable replacement for meat.

*photo courtesy of coupon shoebox

Since lentils come in pretty large amounts, I’m providing 3 ways to use them. All are full meals and most involve cheese (!). So there you go – 3 not-boring, meat free meals that use up that bag of lentils.

Lentils Meal 1 –

Here is a recipe for Lentil Meatlballs from my favorite food blog Sprouted Kitchen. I made a few adjustments to suit my tastes –

  • I use the (Le) Puy (French) lentils as I think they hold up the best and have the most flavor
  • Add 1/4 c Mascarpone to the lentils mix when incorporating the ricotta
  • Instead of making the pesto, I bought fresh organic pesto (Daylesford makes a superb one if you’re in London) then thinned it out with 1 T. of lemon juice
  • I served them over whole wheat spaghetti noodles with some pesto sauce and ricotta mixed in (MORE CHEESE PLEASE)

Lentils Meal 2 –

French Lentils and a good crusty baguette. Recipe HERE

Lentils Meal 3 – 

French Lentils with Fried Goat Cheese over Greens. Recipe HERE

Leave a Reply

